HCT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is HCT Certification?

TL;DR
  • HCT here means House Cleaning Technician, an individual credential issued by the IICRC.
  • The course runs two days with 14 instructional hours; IICRC's HCT page lists no prerequisites.
  • The exam and each retest cost $80, separate from school tuition; the passing score is 75%.
  • You get two retests, each within 45 days of the previous scoring date; failing both means repeating the course.

What HCT Actually Means Here

In this article, HCT stands for House Cleaning Technician. The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in other fields, so it is worth being precise: everything below concerns the residential cleaning credential administered by the Institute of Inspection Cleaning and Restoration Certification (IICRC), and nothing else. If you landed here searching for a different credential with the same letters, the details here (fees, retest rules, content areas) will not apply to it. For a short orientation on the term itself, see What Does HCT Stand For? and HCT Meaning.

The House Cleaning Technician credential recognizes that an individual has completed approved training in cleaning the interior of residences, passed a written examination, and documented the required skills. It is a personal credential: it belongs to you, not to your employer, and it is separate from IICRC Certified Firm status, which applies to companies.

Who Issues the Credential

The certifying body is the IICRC. Training is delivered through IICRC-approved schools, and the IICRC publishes the administrative rules for courses, exams, retests, and renewal. ISSA Residential is one approved training provider that offers the HCT course. It also has its own separate residential credential, which is a different thing and should not be confused with the IICRC HCT.

Provider vs. certifier: A school teaches the course and may sell supplemental materials, but the credential itself comes from the IICRC. When you compare programs, you are comparing instructors, schedules, and delivery formats, not different versions of the certification.

You can find the course calendar and the list of approved schools through the IICRC's official pages. Before paying tuition anywhere, confirm the school appears on the approved list and that the specific class date you want is an HCT offering.

How You Earn It: Course, Exam, Documentation

The IICRC's HCT page lists no prerequisites, which makes this one of the more accessible entry points in the cleaning and restoration credential space. For a deeper look at eligibility, see HCT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. Under the issuer's general certification requirements, the path has three parts:

  1. Attend an approved course. The HCT course is two days and includes 14 instructional hours. That figure excludes examination time, lunch, and breaks.
  2. Pass the written examination. The passing score is 75%.
  3. Document the required skills. The classroom component is supplemented by on-the-job training and field experience, so the credential is meant to reflect practical competence rather than test-taking alone.
A note on what is not published: The current HCT question count, exam time limit, and cohort pass rate were not verified in issuer sources, so this article does not state them. Older provider documents reference a 2012-era course and should not be treated as describing today's exam form. Ask your approved school how the exam is administered in your session. For what is known about difficulty and results, see How Hard Is the HCT Exam? and HCT Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

The Four Preparation Topics

The IICRC's course description names four topic areas. They are best understood as preparation topics drawn from a broad course summary, not as a formal exam blueprint with published weights. No weighting is assigned here because none has been published. The first topic is the umbrella subject; the other three are its named components.

Domain 1: Interior cleaning of residences

This is the overarching subject of the entire credential. Expect to understand how homes are cleaned systematically, and the course framing points toward the factors that shape that work.

  • Different interior environments and the furnishings and materials found in them
  • Surfaces and how their composition affects the cleaning approach
  • Tools and equipment, and when each is appropriate
  • Worker and occupant safety, including health considerations

Domain 2: Sanitizing and disinfecting surfaces

This area deals with going beyond visible soil removal. Candidates should be able to distinguish between cleaning, sanitizing, and disinfecting, and understand why the distinction matters in a home.

  • The difference between removing soil and reducing microbial presence
  • Matching products and methods to surface types
  • Safe handling of cleaning chemistry

Domain 3: Non-disaster restoration

This topic covers returning ordinary, non-catastrophic soiled or worn conditions toward a cleaner state. The "non-disaster" qualifier is the key phrase: it frames restoration as part of everyday residential care rather than emergency response.

  • Recognizing when routine cleaning is not enough
  • Understanding what different materials can tolerate
  • Knowing the limits of a technician's scope

Domain 4: Normal maintenance

The IICRC's dedicated HCT page calls this topic routine maintenance, while the course description says normal maintenance. Treat them as the same idea: the ongoing upkeep that keeps a residence in good condition between deeper interventions.

  • Regular cleaning cycles and what they protect
  • How good maintenance reduces the need for restoration
  • Communicating upkeep needs to occupants

ISSA-controlled badge criteria for its HCT-related program list supporting skill areas such as environment, furnishings, health, materials and surfaces, safety, cleaning science, and tools and equipment. That is useful context for what a course may emphasize, but it is provider material supporting your preparation, not an additional set of official exam domains. For a fuller breakdown, see HCT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.

In-Person vs. Online Delivery

Delivery information from the IICRC is not perfectly uniform, so read it carefully. The dedicated HCT page describes the course as in-person only. However, the IICRC's current Certifications Offered catalog and its Live-Stream Certifications page include HCT as available online, and ISSA Residential lists a two-day virtual class. Because of this inconsistency, confirm the delivery arrangements with the specific approved course you plan to attend.

ItemIn-person courseLive-stream course
InstructionTwo days, 14 instructional hoursFull course must be attended
Where the exam is takenWritten exam on the final course dayIICRC Online Exam Portal
Identity checkHandled at the courseID verification required
Exam timingFinal day of the courseUp to 45 days after the final course day
Don't confuse two different "45" and "14" numbers: The 14-hour instruction total and the 45-day online access window are administrative figures. Neither is an exam timer, and neither tells you how long you have to answer questions during the test.

Fees, Passing Score, and Retest Rules

The initial exam fee and each retest fee are $80 USD. This is charged separately from school tuition, so the total outlay depends on the approved school you choose. ISSA Residential also lists an optional HCT manual separately at $149; that is a supplemental study purchase, not a requirement stated by the IICRC. A fuller cost picture is in HCT Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

ElementWhat the issuer states
Initial exam fee$80 USD (separate from tuition)
Retest fee$80 USD per retest
Passing score75%
First retestWithin 45 days of the initial exam scoring date
Second retestWithin 45 days of the first retest scoring date
If both retests are failedRepeat the course and examination

The IICRC's general FAQ uses less precise 45-day wording than the dedicated Retest FAQs. When the two seem to differ, rely on the detailed retest rules above, which tie each window to a specific scoring date. More on the threshold itself is at HCT Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and scheduling specifics are covered in HCT Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Key Takeaway

Budget for the possibility of a retest. Each attempt costs $80, and the windows are tied to scoring dates, so a missed deadline can push you back to repeating the whole course. Treat the 45-day clock as a real constraint from the moment your result posts.

Keeping the Credential Active

Earning the credential is not the end of the administrative path. Maintenance requires annual renewal payment and 14 continuing-education credit hours every four years. The renewal amount depends on which certifications you hold, so a technician with several IICRC credentials will see a different figure than someone with HCT alone. Check your IICRC account for the current amount rather than relying on a number from a third party.

Because HCT belongs to the individual, it travels with you if you change employers. That portability is part of its practical value, which is explored from a return-on-investment angle in Is the HCT Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Where an HCT Fits in the Cleaning Workforce

The credential is aimed at people who clean the interiors of residences. That naturally points toward residential cleaning companies, maid and home-service businesses, and cleaners who work independently and want a recognized credential to show clients. It can also be relevant for people moving toward cleaning and restoration work more broadly, since the IICRC is best known in that wider industry.

Because this is a foundational credential with no listed prerequisites, it is commonly useful as a first formal qualification. It signals that you have completed approved training and met a written standard, which can help when a customer or employer is deciding whom to trust inside a home. Specific pay is not stated here because no verified figures are available from the issuer; for earnings discussion, see HCT Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and for roles, HCT Jobs.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Topic

You do not need an elaborate system for a two-day course, but ordering your review around the four topics helps. Start with the foundation and build outward, because the later topics lean on the first.

Week 1

Interior cleaning of residences

  • Learn the vocabulary of surfaces, materials, furnishings, and equipment
  • Review safety and health basics, since they thread through every other topic
Week 2

Sanitizing and disinfecting surfaces

  • Lock in the cleaning vs. sanitizing vs. disinfecting distinction
  • Practice matching methods to surface types
Week 3

Non-disaster restoration and normal maintenance

  • Clarify where routine care ends and restorative work begins
  • Review maintenance cycles and how they prevent larger problems

Because the retest rules are strict, finish with timed practice questions before your exam day instead of treating a retest as a safety net. The practice questions on the HCT Exam Prep practice test site let you check yourself across all four topics. For a longer plan, see HCT Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the quick-reference HCT Cheat Sheet 2026. You can also start drilling immediately with a free run through the main practice exam.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does HCT stand for in this context?

It stands for House Cleaning Technician, an IICRC credential covering the interior cleaning of residences. It is unrelated to other credentials that happen to share the same acronym.

Are there prerequisites to take the course?

The IICRC's HCT page lists none. You attend an approved course, pass the written exam, and document the required skills, supported by on-the-job training and field experience.

How much does the exam cost and what score do I need?

The initial exam and each retest cost $80 USD, separate from school tuition. The passing score is 75%.

What happens if I fail the exam?

You may retest twice: the first within 45 days of the initial scoring date and the second within 45 days of the first retest scoring date. If you fail both, you must repeat the course and examination.

Can I take the course online?

Sources differ: the dedicated HCT page says in-person only, while IICRC's catalog and live-stream page include HCT online. Confirm the format with your approved school. Live-stream candidates use the IICRC Online Exam Portal with ID verification and have 45 days after the final course day to test.

How do I keep the credential current?

Pay the annual renewal fee, which varies by the certifications you hold, and complete 14 continuing-education credit hours every four years.

Ready to pass your HCT exam?

Put this into practice with free HCT questions across every exam domain.